The basic assault charges in Maryland are categorized as assault in the first or second degrees. Assault in the first degree is defined as intentionally causing or attempting to cause serious physical injury to another. This charge also encompasses assault with the firearms or other weapons with maximum imprisonment of not more than 25 years. Assault in the second degree is considered a misdemeanor and is defined as intentionally causing physical injury to another. Physical injury means any impairment of physical condition. This charge is subject to imprisonment not exceeding 10 years or a fine not exceeding $2,500 or both.
Often times there are valid defenses to assault charges, commonly self-defense or even reasonable defense of others. An experienced Maryland assault lawyer will investigate all viable defenses and will uncover all exculpatory evidence to exonerate you or to have the charges dismissed.
Maryland domestic violence cases have most often a baseline charge of assault, destruction of property, or on the civil side, protection orders. Maryland prosecutors generally exercise zero tolerance when it comes to bringing charges in the domestic cases. A charge that involves or stems from a domestic relationship is generally defined as a domestic violence charge or case. As these cases most often involve contemporaneous civil filings, it is imperative to have an experienced Maryland domestic violence lawyer engaged with your case form the very outset. Often times conviction of a domestic violence charge could have ramifications in the ensuing civil cases, such as divorce, custody, or even child support. If you are charged with a domestic assault, violation of a peace or protection order, or any other domestic criminal or civil charge, contact our offices for an immediate consultation. Your rights will be protected and you will be defended to the full extend of the law.